What should I do if I'm involved in an automobile accident?
- You should STOP as soon as it is safe to do so (but without obstructing traffic). Then, TURN OFF YOUR IGNITION (for purposes of fire safety).
- ASSIST THE INJURED and then call for the POLICE.
- TAKE DOWN LICENSE NUMBERS, as well as the make and models of any other vehicles involved.
- TAKE DOWN NAMES and addresses of other drivers and any witnesses or injured persons.
- MAKE ROUGH DRAWING of the accident scene showing position of cars, traffic signs/signals, relevant landmarks, and any other important details.
- DO NOT ACCEPT MONEY at the scene of the accident as a settlement.
- NOTIFY YOUR INSURANCE AGENT.
- FILE A POLICE REPORT.
- CALL MR. KAMINSKI IMMMEIDATELY AT (212)355-5886 OR TOLL FREE AT (855)530-HURT OR CLICK HERE TO SEND AN E-MAIL INQUIRY
Who pays for my medical bill and for lost income?
In New York State, all licensed motor vehicles are required by law to have a minimal amount of personal injury protection (PIP) coverage so that most individuals injured in a motor vehicle accident can get benefits regardless of who was at fault. This 'No-Fault' insurance provides reimbursement of a portion of the injured individual's economic damages, which includes medical expenses, lost earnings and other expenses (such as prescriptions, travel expenses and household help).
"No-Fault" benefits do not apply to people on a motorcycle but it does apply to pedestrians struck by a motorcycle or other motor vehicles.
It is important to note that CLAIMS FOR NO-FAULT BENEFITS MUST BE FILED WITHIN THIRTY (30) DAYS OF THE ACCIDENT.
If the accident happened while you were working at your job, you must file for Workers' Compensation benefits through your employer. The Workers' Compensation carrier will pay a portion of your earnings and the No-Fault carrier will pay you a portion totaling 80% of your gross earning up to a maximum of $2,000/month.
If you are unable to return to work due to your injuries, the No-Fault carrier will pay you for the first week you miss from work. Beginning the second week, New York State Disability will pay you for a period of twenty-six (26) weeks. After that, No-Fault will resume payment. Bear in mind, to qualify for No-Fault and New York State Disability compensation for lost income, your disability must be verified by your doctor and your employer.
The No-Fault Insurance carrier is responsible to pay lost earnings up to 3 years from date of accident (subject to restrictions) or until $50,000 in combined benefits (medical and/or wage, etc.) have been paid which ever occurs first.
Mr. Kaminski's office can assist you in preparing the necessary paperwork to help you receive these benefits. If you, or a loved one, has been injured in a motor vehicle accident, call Mr. Kaminski's office immediately at (212)355-5886 or toll free at (855)530-HURT or CLICK HERE to send an e-mail inquiry.
How can your office help me recover money to compensate me for the pain and suffering I had to endure due to the injuries caused in my motor vehicle accident?
While many law offices hold themselves out as automobile accident specialists, many of them merely advise their clients to accept a settlement within the "declared" policy limits of the other motor vehicles at fault for the accident without aggressively exploring all avenues of recovery. The attorneys at Mr. Kaminski's office understand and appreciate that the value of a personal injury often exceeds the value of the "declared" insurance policy and will aggressively and thoroughly investigate for any "excess" insurance coverage to help fairly and fully compensate an injury victim.
Use the form below or call 212-355-5886 to schedule your free consultation.